The Poetry of Simplicity .
Ulrike Böhme

Hannelore Fehse paints the buildings of the Swabian Alb.

SIMPLY BEAUTIFUL – that’s what she calls her exhibition in…

Just beautiful?
The pictures appear simple at first, since HF has mastered the art of reduction. To reduce, to understand and grasp what could be. To understand the omission of non-essentials and to focus on what needs to be expressed; this is abstraction.

Consequently, HF’s paintings are beautiful but not in a trivial sense. On the contrary, the beauty of these paintings is complex yet austere. They tell the story of the power of plainness and the poetry of simplicity. They are intrinsically peaceful. The interaction of shape and colour displays harmony in perfection. But how is harmony in perfection achieved?

The Japanese call it Wabi Sabi. A tea cup finally obtains perfection by the slight imperfections in the glaze or by signs of frequent use. The imperfections and the slight distortion of superficial harmony achieve a true equilibrium and thus, a touching beauty.

HF’s work is simplified by reduction. It is beautified by its refractions and it is eloquent in a way that everyone who experiences this region will understand.

The farm houses of the Swabian Alb do not possess the magnificence of homesteads in Lower Saxony or Upper Bavaria. The Swabian Alb was traditionally a poor region and the inhabitants knew how to distinguish between essentials and non-essentials.

HF has explored the essential nature of this region with a clear and analytical eye and expressed it in her work. Her paintings are surrogates, extracts and flavours, displaying her very own interpretation of the region. The essentials, nothing more, but also nothing less!

In an age, where the focus is directed solely towards MORE, the sentence LESS IS MORE appears somewhat hackneyed and archaic. But, should we meet it in a chance encounter, we realise how pleasant the LESS can be:

The paintings tell, with a poetic serenity the story of the Swabian Alb, their people and their dwellings. The “Älbler” know about understatement and don’t crow or boast. A typical phrase from their dialect would read: “we don’t show what we have got”.

HF has understood the fundamentals of how beautiful the few can be, which expressions of elegance or austerity can be developed, which powers can be transported by reduction, plainness, simplicity and clarity. She has transformed this knowledge into a remarkable and unique language:

Highly aesthetic, very intense, full of poetry and finally, doing justice to her subjects.

Arthur Schopenhauer wrote: “The first and practically the only condition for good style is that one has something to say”

HF has something to say!

Ulrike Böhme, Artist and Architect, Hohensteinateliers

 

Comments are closed.

Von der Poesie des Einfachen

Hannelore Fehse malt Albhäuser.
‚Einfach schön – ALBHÄUSER‘ nennt sie ihre Ausstellung im Haus des Landkreises Alb-Donau-Kreis.
Nur einfach schön?

Die Bilder erscheinen zunächst einfach, denn Hannelore Fehse beherrscht die Kunst der Reduktion. Reduktion, welche nachvollziehen und begreifen lässt, wie im Weglassen von Unwesentlichem und der Konzentration auf das, was unbedingt gesagt werden muss, Abstraktion entsteht.

Und dann sind die Bilder von Hannelore Fehse auch schön.
Aber nicht im platten Sinn. Sie sind nicht gefällig schön, nicht trivial. Ganz im Gegenteil. Die Schönheit dieser Bilder ist sperrig – spröde. Sie reden von der Kraft der Schlichtheit, von der Poesie des Einfachen. Sie ruhen in sich. Das Miteinander von Form und Farbe zeigt Harmonie in Perfektion. Wodurch aber wird Harmonie in Vollendung erzeugt?

Wabi Sabi nennen es die Japaner. Eine Teetasse erhält erst durch die leichte Unregelmäßigkeit in der Glasur oder durch die Spuren des häufigen Gebrauchs ihre Vollkommenheit. Das Nichtperfekte, die leichte Störung der vordergründigen Harmonie schafft die wahre Ausgewogenheit und damit Schönheit, die anrührt.

Das Werk von Hannelore Fehse ist einfach durch die Reduktion. Es ist schön durch die Brechungen. Und es ist beredt auf eine Weise, die jeder, der diese Region erlebt, begreift.

Die Bauernhäuser der Schwäbischen Alb besitzen nicht die Pracht von niedersächsischen oder oberbayrischen Gehöften. Die Alb war arm und die Menschen wussten Nötiges von Unnötigen zu unterscheiden.

Die Wesenhaftigkeit dieser Region hat Hannelore Fehse mit klarem, analytischem Blick erforscht und sie in ihren Gemälden umgesetzt. Ihre Bilder sind Surrogate, Extrakte, Essenzen, welche das Ureigene dieser Region zum Ausdruck bringen.
Eben: Das Nötigste. Nicht mehr, aber auch nicht weniger!

In einer Zeit, wo es ausschließlich um das MEHR geht, mutet das WENIGER IST MEHR ein bisschen abgegriffen, altbacken und moralinsauer an und doch begreifen wir, wenn es uns begegnet, wie wohltuend es sein kann:
Das WENIGER.

Mit großem poetischen Ernst erzählen die Bilder von der Alb, ihren Menschen und ihren Gehäusen. Sie trumpfen nicht auf, sie geben nicht an, die Älbler können Understatement. Mir zeigat net, was mir hent.

Wie schön das Wenige sein kann, welche Anmut das Karge entwickeln kann, welche Kraft Reduktion, Schlichtheit, Einfachheit und Klarheit bergen kann, hat Hannelore Fehse zutiefst begriffen und in eine bemerkenswerte, einzigartige Sprache umgesetzt:

Hochästhetisch, sehr innerlich, voller Poesie und letztendlich einfach, wie ihre Sujets.

Die erste -und praktisch einzige- Vorraussetzung für einen guten Stil ist, dass man etwas zu sagen hat, schrieb Artur Schopenhauer

Hannelore Fehse hat etwas zu sagen.

Ulrike Böhme, Von der Poesie des Einfachen. In: Hannelore Fehse, Albhäuser, 2012, S 54 f.

 


Warning: count(): Parameter must be an array or an object that implements Countable in /homepages/22/d421569201/htdocs/hannelore-fehse-2016/wp-includes/class-wp-comment-query.php on line 405

Die Kommentarfunktion ist geschlossen.